In Sanskrit, the word yoga comes from the root yuj which means “to add”, “to join”, “to unite”, or “to attach” in its most common senses.

The ultimate goal of Yoga is moksha (liberation), although the exact definition of what form this takes depends on the philosophical or theological system with which it is conjugated.

According to Patanjali and the Yoga Sutras yoga consists of 8 limbs.:

Yama, moral codes
Niyama, self-purification and study
Asana, posture
Pranayama, breath control
Pratyahara, withdrawing of the mind from the senses
Dharana, concentration
Dhyana, deep meditation
Samadhi, Union with the object of meditation

So yoga is a spiritual practice more than a physical practice. Though the spiritual journey is traveled through the physical practice. As said:

“Yoga is 99% Practice & 1% theory.”  -Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

I have practiced nearly any style of yoga: Ashtanga, Hatha, Yin, Strala, Jivamukti, Bikram, Kundalini, Dharma, Acroyoga etc. For the last 14 years I’ve had a serious yoga practice.

If you would like to explore the yoga practice, join one of my classes, workshops or contact me use the contact form here..